East Northamptonshire (officially “The District of East Northamptonshire”) is a local government district in NorthamptonshireEngland. Its council is based in Thrapston and Rushden. Other towns include OundleRaundsIrthlingborough and Higham Ferrers. The town of Rushden is the largest settlement in the district and the smallest settlement is the hamlet of Shotley.

The district borders onto the Borough of Corby, the Borough of Kettering, the Borough of Wellingborough, the Borough of Bedford, the City of Peterborough, the District of Huntingdonshire, South Kesteven District and the unitary authority county of Rutland.

The district was formed on 1 April 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, by a merger of the municipal borough of Higham Ferrers, with the urban districts of Irthlingborough, Oundle, Raunds and Rushden, along with Oundle and Thrapston Rural District, and Newton Bromswold from Wellingborough Rural District.

Much of the district is home to Rockingham Forest, once a Royal hunting forest which takes its name from the village of Rockingham where William I built a castle.

The district is home to several of Northamptonshire’s airfields including Spanhoe airfield, King’s Cliffe airfield, Deenethorpe airfield, Polebrook airfield, Chelveston airfield and Lyveden airfield.

There are six towns in the district. Rushden is by far the largest with a population of 25,849. It is situated in the very south of the district. The second largest town is Raunds with a population of around 8,000. The smallest town in the district is Thrapston where the HQ of the East Northamptonshire council is located. Oundle is a historical market town with many ancient buildings and a large Public School. Higham Ferrers, which is part of Rushden’s urban area, was the birthplace for Henry Chichele and chichele college. Irthlingborough was home to Rushden & Diamonds Football Club before it went into liquidation.

There are no railway stations in East Northamptonshire. There is one College in East Northamptonshire.